Manual Attack Resistance Levels in Physical Security Products Explained

10 March, 2021

There are many different resistance classifications for physical security products which range from their performance against manual to blast attack. The manual resistance classifications refer to how products perform against attacks from different tools, typical in the circumstances of burglary and forced entry. In 80% of cases, the most targeted entry point for this type of attack are doors so it is important for these elements to be the most secure part of a building.


One range of classification which references manual attack is EN1627, this standard encompasses a range of tests from physical resistance to manual burglary attempts, as we as resistance to static and dynamic load testing, this has a range in performance levels from RC (Resistance Class) 1 up to 6, and within each level they stipulate a tool attack method and the required level of EN365 glass to be installed at each RC level.


Understanding which resistance class is the best for providing against which type of attacks, the RC levels are explained in the following table:

Choosing a product rated RC4 means that you are choosing a level of security which ensures an excellent level of protection from manual attack. At Safetell we offer a number of entrance control products which have achieved an RC4 rating including:

Revolving Doors

Security Pass Door

Security Portals


Each of these products have a unique purpose in providing the best level of security for entrance control. Security portals, along with the RC4 rating are the most secure entrance control option as not only do they offer a high level of manual attack protection, they also can be fitted with metal detectors and mask recognition to control unauthorised access.


We are also open to questions and discussion with our customers and audience about physical security. If you have any questions, let us know!


Follow us on LinkedIn for our latest updates.