Certification and Protection Standards

Certification and standards to the uninitiated can be an overwhelming, so it’s our role to help clarify this. You will find these types of Certifications on a range of Safetell solutions, from Ballistic Counters and Service Desks to Steel Security Doors.

Certification + Protection Overview

The Value of Certification

Certification is often required by law or trade regulators and associations to provide a universal and trustworthy point of comparison between different products and levels. As infrastructure continues to develop, and individuals working on every step of a project are occupied with more and more tasks and points of differentiation, certification provides a quick, easy and global reference point to stick by to meet customer demands. Overall, the value of certification comes down to these three points:

  • To be able to compare materials with an equal security level
  • To have a guarantee that the materials used within the products are resistant to the specified level

Bespoke Security and Certification

When dealing with bespoke and modified solutions, even those with minor changes such as a changed lock on a bullet resistant Security Door, the standard certification provided for the product changes due to the modification may become null. In instances such as this, a certified product will be duplicated and the bespoke changes will be made to the equivalent level and often independently tested.

Recognizing Standards

British and European Standards identify, rate and certificate an entire industry of products. However, when dealing internationally, there are some other certification standards to understand. To help identify these, please see:

  • “BS” = British Standards
  • “BS EN” = British Adoptions of EU Standards
  • “ISO” = International Standards
  • “BS ISO” = British Adoption of International Standards

What is Ballistic Protection?

Ballistic protection is the name for products that are designed to be bullet/ballistic resistant when under attack by firearms, including the use of pistols, assault rifles, and shotguns. The protection is rated using the European (EN) Standards, which specify the weapons and types of prolonged damage available

What is Blast Protection?

Blast Protection is defined as resistance from explosive “blast” attacks. To gain a certification rating, official tests are conducted and then rated, often by assessing resilience through the use of heavy TNT explosions.

What is Manual Attack Protection?

Manual attack protection is measured against sustained attack by professional invaders using a variety of tools such as drills. Manual Attack protection is rated by the European Standard (EN) and Loss Prevention Certification Board (LPCB) with the higher the numerical rating meaning a higher level of protection on offer.

What is Fire Protection?

Fire protection is rated with a code and time, depending on the specification of the product. Testing scenarios will try to recreate a  fire scenario and place products within an intense fire and time their life longevity. Fire Resistance can be rated using the British Standard (BS 476: Part 22: 1987) or the European Standard (BS EN 1634-1 : 2008).

Detonation + Deflagration

When specifying for fire resistance, there are two types of information you might find yourself regularly noticing: Detonation and Deflagration. Our guide can help clarify the difference.

Bullet Proof + Bullet Resistant

Misunderstanding the term ‘Bullet Proof’ is a fairly common practice. However, the difference between ‘resistant’ and ‘proof’ can mean the difference between life and death when working with security specifications.